The Great Joy Of Blogging

2014 June 005I recently received yet another rejection for one of my novels. I can usually brush them off and console myself by prattling off the names of famous authors whose rejection slips numbered in the double digits before they were finally published. “If they can do it, so can I!” I tell myself. But for some reason, I just couldn’t shake the uncertainty, the doubt, the woe-is-me-I’m-at-the-bottom-of-the-totem-pole attitude.

Then I got an email from someone who said they enjoyed reading my blog.

Really?

Well, that changes everything!

I don’t know why, but that snapped me out of my melancholy. One of the greatest joys of writing is having other people read what you write and like it. I may not have a book in print yet, but I’m getting a taste of that sharing-my-writing joy through my blogs.

I may be on the bottom of the totem pole, but my animal mask is smiling!

4 thoughts on “The Great Joy Of Blogging

  1. I love reading your blog too…and blogging definitely counts as writing! It’s a great way for us aspiring writers to develop our skills- especially voice. 🙂 Don’t give up. Keep writing. Keep revising. Do more revising. Count on your critique partners. Pretty soon your manuscript will sparkle. If after all that, it doesn’t, then you may come up with an idea for an even better story. That’s what happened to me! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with the rest of us!

Leave a Reply

