Enthusiastic Productivity

rachel aaron 10kI recently read a post by Rachel Aaron on how she manages to write 10,000 words a day. That’s approximately 25 pages in 5-6 hours. Approximately. Shoot, even if my estimate is off by an hour or ten pages, that’s still amazing!

Rachel has a cool triangle with time, enthusiasm, and knowledge at the three points. Knowledge is knowing what you want to write before you start typing and time is carving out chunks of time to write because it takes a while to get into your groove and you want to stay in said groove as long as possible.

Enthusiasm was my favorite triangle point. The more excited you are about what you’re doing, the faster and better you’ll do it. Rachel recommends taking five minutes before you start your task to get yourself excited about it. For example, if you’re going to write a scene that is necessary plot-wise, but a bit of a yawner, then brainstorm ways to make it interesting: symbolism, unspoken communication between characters, a bit of humor, and so forth. Your “boring” scene will be better and you’ll get through it more quickly.

Rachel writes novels, but I believe her triangle applies to nonfiction as well. For example, I love blogging, but there are times when a blog post is “due” (because I said I would post weekly on Sex, Soup, and Two Fisted Eating, and bimonthly here and by golly, I will), but I’m just not feeling it. I sit and the computer and whine: I don’t feel funny. I want to work on my novel instead. I want a nap. If I take a few minutes to get my creative juices flowing, though, writing becomes fun again. Enthusiasm is my favorite because it not only helps me write faster, but helps me write better.

2 thoughts on “Enthusiastic Productivity

  1. I can only dream of writing 10,000 words a month…what? A day? I think if I tried that, most of it would be gibberish – but I do like the idea psyching yourself up for writing. I’m going to try it right now…

Leave a Reply

